ISWI Newsletter - Vol.4 No.46
28 April 2012

Dear ISWI Participant:

I was asked to circulate the following announcement by the organizers of this event, European Week of Astronomy and Space Science (EWASS).

The European Week of Astronomy and Space Science (EWASS) 2012
Rome, Italy, from 1 to 6 July 2012EWASS 2012 Website
Deadline for abstract submission to EWASS 2012 has been extended to May 11, 2012.
Early registration deadline (reduced registration fee) is May 15, 2012.

EWASS 2012 will host 11 plenary talks, 10 Symposia, 12 Special Sessions, and 8 Special Meetings on various aspects of modern astronomy. The conference will address a wide range of topics in Astronomy and Space Sciences and related technologies, that are of interest to the European Astronomical Community.

Confirmed speakers for plenary sessions:
Giovanni Bignami (INAF),
Thijs de Graauw (ALMA),
Ewine Van Dishoeck (Leiden),
Alvaro Gimenez (ESA),
Roberto Gilmozzi (ESO),
Tim de Zeeuw (ESO),
Jean Pierre Bibring (Universite de Paris Sud-Orsay),
Sami Solanki (Gottingen),
Thijs van der Hulst (Groningen),
Cesare Chiosi (Padua),
Jose Alberto Rubino-Martin (IAC).

Colleagues are invited to register and submit abstracts for the two solar events that will take place during the EWASS2012:

Special Session 11:
From solar physics to astrophysics: the Sun as Rosetta Stone for understanding astrophysical processes, scheduled July 3, 2012
Symposium 8:
The Sun: new tools and ideas in observational solar astrophysics, scheduled, July 5-6, 2012 (
Confirmed Speakers for Special Session 11: Maria Pia Di Mauro, Laurent Gizon, Suzanne Aigrain, Stuart Jefferies, Clare Parnell, Feng Yuan, Viggo Hansteen. Confirmed Speakers for Symposium 8:
Egidio Landi degl'Innocenti, Daniel Mueller, Roberto Casini, Gerad Trottet, Kiyoshi Ichimoto, Manuel Collados Vera, Thomas Rimmele, Ester Antonucci, Valentin Pillet, Wolfgang Schmidt, Mats Carlsson.

Financial aid to participate in the EWASS is available through the regular EAS Grant program ( Students and early career researchers in solar physics are also eligible for support thanks to the sponsorship by EAST and EPS.

Sent on behalf of the organisers: Francesco Berrilli (University of Tor Vergata)
Ilaria Ermolli (INAF Observatory of Rome)
Francesca Zuccarello (University of Catania)

Respectfully yours,
George Maeda
Editor of ISWI Newsletter
Hakozaki Campus, Kyushu University, Japan.