International Space Weather Initiative
MEETINGS (2010 - 2011)

International Space Weather Initiative
Second UN/NIGERIA Workshop on ISWI

October 17-21, 2011, Abuja, Nigeria
The Workshop has ended.

Official website of the Workshop (click here)

read more
Host:    •National Space Research and Development Agency [Centre for Basic Space Sciences CBSS]

•Federal Ministry of Science&Technology;       •Federal Republic of Nigeria
Co-organized and co-sponsored by National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA, US), Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA, Japan), COmmittee on SPace Research (COSPAR), Space Environment Research Center of Kyushu University (SERC, Japan), International Astronomical Union (IAU) and International Committee on Global Navigation Satellite Systems (ICG)

Key Dates for the Workshop updated
Registration deadline: 31 July 2011

Fill in Registration Form (click here)
Abstract Submission deadline: 31 July 2011
Application for travel support deadline: 31 July 2011

Fill in Online application form (click here)
for self-funded speakers and experts (click here)
Notification for Financial Support: 1 August 2011

Workshop: 17-21 October 2011

Nigeria: Heart of Africa

•Largest producer of oil in Africa

•160 million people

•a quarter of African Population

City of Event

•Abuja, 9.50Nord, 7.50East

•one hour ahead of GMT

•six hours ahead Washington DC

Status of Preparation

•Nigeria hosted UN/NASA/ESA Workshop on BSSI in October 1993

•We have successfully hosted several international meetings

•NASRDA National Space Research and Development Agency established in 1999 is ready to host this important meeting

•We are in touch with UNOOSA to perfect appropriate paper work

•Webpage is ready (click here)

Borrowed from the presentation of Dr. Babatunde Rabiu
ISWI National Coordinator for Nigeria

Click here to search for Abuja, Nigeria in Google maps

hide the text above
International Space Weather Initiative
First 2010 UN/ESA/NASA/JAXA Workshop on ISWI
The science results from existing and future distributed observatories
and their applications for prediction of space weather

November 06-10, 2010 in Helwan, Egypt
The Workshop has ended.

1. Book of Abstracts (924 KB, 149 pages)

2. Advisory Committees (click here)

3. Presentations during the first two days (click here) (updated on Nov 27, 2010)

4. Presentations during the MAGDAS session [third and fourth day](click here) (updated on Dec 02, 2010)

5. Special edition of "SUN and GEOSPHERE" (dedicated to the first ISWI workshop)
To browse published articles (Click here). Look for Volume 6, Number 1 and Number 2

For more click here
Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research, Egypt
Helwan University, Egypt
United Nations (UN)
National Aeronautic and Space Administration (NASA)
Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA)
Space Weather Monitoring Center (SWMC)

See the website of the First ISWI workshop here

Participants the list is borrowed from Workshop CD-Rom

Australia: Richard Marshall

Azerbaijan: Babayev Elchin

Brazil: Edith Liliana Macotela Cruz, Fernando Bertoni , Maeda Jojimr , Nelson Jorge Schuch, Tardelli R. C., Stekel

Bulgaria : Katya Georgieva

Cameroon: Cesar Mbane

Congo: Bruno Murumba Kahindo, Louis Kongoda Lisika

Coté D’Ivoire: Ackah Jean, Ackah Jean , Zaka Komenan Zacharie, Doumouya Vafi

Egypt: A. Fathy, A.F.Hassan, A.Fawzi, A.M. Abdallah, A.Mahrous, A.Metwaly, A.Radi , Ali Gamal, Essam Ghamry, G. M. E. Kamh, I.Fathy, M. M. Ibrahim, M. Youssef, M.Soliman, Mohamed Th. S. Heikal, N. Yasin, O. A. Abu Elezz, R. Elhawary, R. Hamza, R.Mohamed, S. Ahmed , S.Farid

Ethiopia: Alem Mebrahtu Tesfamariam, Ephrem Tesfaye Desta, Gebreab Kidanu Zewdie, Gebreab Kidanu Zewdie

France: Christine Amory, Luc Damé, Monique Petitdidier

India: K.Unnikrishnan, Nair

Indonesia: Setyanto C., Pranoto

Italy: Stefania Lepidi

Japan: Hajime Hayakawa, Kazuoki Munakata, Satoru Ueno, Kazuo Shiokawa, Kiyohumi Yumoto

Kenya : Paul Baki

Malaysia: Setyanto Cahyo Putranto

Mozambique: Alberto Juliao Macamo

Niger: SaidouM adougou

Nigeria: Adimula Issac, Abiodun, Fayose Sola, Hamisu Mai-Unguwa, Kolawole Lawrence

Peru: Edwin Choque , Jose Ishitsuka, Walter Guevara Day

Philippines: Quirino Sugon Jr.

Senegal: Abdoulaye Ndiaye

Slovakia: Ivan Dorotovic , Pinter Teodor

Sudan: Ibrahim Mohammed Elfaki

Switzerland: Christian, Monstein

Tanzania: Isaac M.M arbhe

Philippines: Quirino Sugon

Turkey: Atila Ozguc, Ersin Tulunay, Yurdanur Tulunay

Uited Nations: Hans Haubold, Sharafat Gadimova

USA: Benjamin Heruska , Dominic Zarro, Eftyhia Zesta, Joseph M. Davila, Keith Groves, Kyle C.Wiens, Naoshin Haque , Nat Gopalswamy, Robert V Hilmer, Terence Bullett, Terry Onsager , Trevor Garner

Viet Nam: Tan Minhle, Thai Lan Hoang Ho

hide the text above